Manuscripts at the Morgan Library & Museum



The first digitized manuscripts from the collection of the Morgan Library & Museum are now available online.

A digitization project begun in 2007, the Morgan’s 900+ music manuscripts are now seeing the light of the internet, with forty works available so far. Composers represented include J.S. Bach, Haydn, Mozart, and Beethoven, among many others.

There’s more to come, too.

“Images and descriptions of these manuscripts will be available on the Morgan’s Web site for study by scholars, musicians, and the general public. Over time, enhancements will be added, such as images of watermarks…and essays about the manuscripts by leading scholars.”

Undoubtedly, this is welcome news for those who cannot easily make it to New York City.

Learn More:

(Detail from Bach’s cantata BWV 112 – autograph; photo: Morgan Library & Museum)

Previous Post: Roger Ebert and the Mozart Effect
Next Post: Concert Reviews Linked: Handel and Haydn Society, Les Talens Lyriques, and Dallas Bach Society

Comments are closed.